Boyer wins Ward 2

Tuesday, April 2, 2024

David Boyer won the contested race for the Poplar Bluff City Council’s Ward 2 with 87 votes out of 122 cast, commanding a strong 69%.

“I feel great and I can’t wait to get to work,” Boyer said.

He will prioritize finalizing plans for a new city hall when he takes office.

After years of discussion, Boyer said he would like to finalize the process.

He personally thanked council member Jerrica Fox-Lane for endorsing him. Fox-Lane is the incumbent for Ward 2 and did not seek re-election.

Boyer said all the city council members have been supportive.

“They’re a great team to be working with,” he confirmed.

In a nod to candidates Mack Campbell and Marty Paskel, Boyer said he would like to meet with each of them to discuss ideas on how to improve the city. He admired their willingness to step up and serve.

Boyer is retired from the forest service and expressed a passion for projects and community improvement.

Campbell received 16 votes and Paskel had 19 votes.

Billy DePew also won an uncontested race for Poplar Bluff’s at-large seat, and Shane Cornman was re-elected to Ward 4, also unopposed.

Poplar Bluff voters passed a 3% sales tax on adult-use marijuana, 339-138.

The city of Poplar Bluff saw a voter turnout of about 6.3% for the marijuana tax.

Ward 2’s contested race had a voter turnout of about 7.6% of active, registered voters.